Audio Description
susana mendes silva + abdul moimême
11th July, thrusday
6:30 pm
room 2

listen to the performance
: http://freemusic.podomatic.com/entry/2013-09-26T02_47_36-07_00

Audio Description is about a narration technique of images or visual representations that describes actions, scenes, the scenario, and all that can be seen. The script was based on the novel "The strange adventures of Dr. Z", an undated original from Reporter X. The action takes place during the sombre years of the First World War, when Lisbon became the centre stage of international espionage.
In this performance, blind or visually impared people were special guests, as everyone else had to use blindfolds. 
This performance is part of the cicle Vinte e sete sentidos, organized by Granular.

Abdul Moimême is a Lisbon based musician and active member of the cities free improvisation scene. His main instrument is the electric guitar, which he prepares and plays one or two at a time, unaided by electronic effects, other than the dry output of his amplifiers and preamps. The musicians name is an artistic pseudonym inspired by the work of the late Jewish painter Abdul Mati Klarwein, whose visionary work illustrated many jazz and rock album covers.
While living in Madrid he studied guitar with private teachers, eventually moving to Boston to study architecture. In 1986 he completed his degree at the University of Lisbon, practicing architecture professionally since then.
In the early 90s he studied tenor saxophone with Patrick Brennan, also becoming actively involved with Lisbon’s improvised and independent rock scenes.
In 1999 he began working as a jazz writer in various Portuguese publications such as Flirt, All Jazz and Jazz.pt magazines, as well as the Público newspaper.
He has performed in several projects such as: Hipnótica, IKB, Insub Meta Orchestra, Potlatch, Queixas, Suspensão, and Variable Geometry Orchestra. He has also performed and/or recorded with musicians such as: 
Axel Dörner, Carlos Santos, Carlos Zingaro, Eduardo Chagas, Ernesto Rodrigues, Floros Floridis, Gale Brand, George Haslam, Guilherme Rodrigues, Heddy Boubaker, João Pedro Viegas, Jon Raskin, José Oliveira, Manuel Mota, Marcello Magliocchi, Matthias Boss, Miguel Mira, Monsieur Trinité, Nuno Torres, Nuno Rebelo, Nusch Werchowska, Patrick Brennan, Paulo Chagas, Paulo Curado, Ricardo Guerreiro, Rodrigo Amado e Wade Matthews…